Advisory Board Members & Executives


Douglas Hurd, Rt Hon The Lord Hurd of Westwell

Former British Foreign Secretary (198996), before that Home Secretary and Northern Ireland Secretary. Also former Chairman, British Invisibles, Chairman, Coutts Bank, and Prison Reform Trust. Former President, German-British Forum.

Advisory Board Chairman

David Simon, Lord Simon of Highbury

Former CEO and Chairman of BP. Governor, Institute for Government, and member of the International Advisory Board of Dana Gas. Formerly Senior Advisor to MWM, Deputy Chairman of Unilever, Deputy Chairman Cambridge University Council and British Government Minister for Trade and Competitiveness (19971999).

Executive Chairman

Michael Maclay

Former diplomat, journalist and television producer, later special adviser to Foreign Secretary and to international High Representative, Bosnia. Chairman, Franco-German-UK Club of Three, Advisory Board member, LSE IDEAS think tank. Former Advisory Board Chairman, British American Project (201220). Ambassador, Young Citizens.

Chief Operating Officer

Tom Rhodes

Former New York Bureau Chief of The Sunday Times and Washington Correspondent for The Times. Latterly senior executive of one of UK’s leading strategic intelligence companies and Managing Director International of New York technology company, Exceed.

Advisory Board Members

Edmond Alphandéry

Founder and chairman of the Euro50 Group. Former Board member, GDF Suez, and President of its Strategic Committee. Also Senior Advisor, Nomura Securities and sits on the Consultative Committee of A.T. Kearney, France. A former Minister of Economy of France (19931995). Chairman of CNP Assurances 19982012. Also former Chairman, Eléctricité de France (EDF).and former President of the Centre for European Policy Studies (CEPS)

James Arbuthnot, Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom

Chairman, Electricity Resilience Ltd, Chairman, UK Advisory Board, Thales. Senior Associate Fellow, Royal United Services Institute for Defence and Security Studies. Conservative Member of Parliament, 19872015, Defence Minister 199497, and Chairman, House of Commons Select Committee on Defence, 200514.

Michael Bottenheim

Trustee, Airey Neave Trust. Formerly Director, UPM-Kymmene; Managing Director, Lazard Brothers; former Senior Adviser, Lincoln International. Executive Director of Citicorp, and member of the Supervisory Board of Abemy BV.

Vivienne Cox

Chairwoman-designate, Victrex. Director, GSK, Stena AB. Chair of the Rosalind Franklin Institute, Vice Chair, Saïd Business School, Oxford. Former Chairman, Vallourec and senior Independent Director, Pearson. Former Director, Rio Tinto. Worked for BP plc for 28 years, latterly as Executive Vice President and Chief Executive of BP’s Gas, Power & Renewables businesses.

Shigeaki Katagiri

Senior Adviser, Lazard Freres. Previously Vice-Chairman UBS Group Japan with specific responsibility for investment banking. Former Member of the Board of Directors, Long Term Credit Bank of Japan.

Casper von Koskull

Former President and CEO of Nordea Bank. Former managing director and partner, Goldman Sachs, previous posts at UBS and Citibank. Chairman of the Board of the European Business Leaders’ Convention (EBLC), also elected Member of Council, SNS/​Center for Business and Policy studies.

Michael Schaefer

35 years in the German Foreign Service, including postings at the UN in New York and Geneva, and in Singapore, and five years as Political Director in Berlin. Ambassador to the People’s Republic of China (20072013), Chairman, BMW Foundation (20142020).Honorary professor at the China University of Political Science and Law; member, Trilateral Commission, Commission on Global Security, Justice & Governance.